Eva Cassidy
Nightbird =4LP 180g=33rpm

  4 x LP   180grs   33⅓rpm   

( 1996 ) 2016 reissue on 180g 33RPM 4LP = featuring Complete 20th Anniversary Blues Alley Collection including 12 Previously Unreleased Recordings & 8 Never-Before-Heard Songs!

Label:  Blix street 
Availability:   Out of Stock
Delivery time:   coming again soon
€59,95 Incl. VAT (BTW)
Would you like an email when in stock?   yes, please

Release date: 21-04-2016

2016 reissue on 180g 33RPM 4LP= featuring Complete 20th Anniversary Blues Alley Collection including 12 Previously Unreleased Recordings & 8 Never-Before-Heard Songs!

Eva Cassidy, the late singer whose signature version of "Over the Rainbow" underscored the In Memoriam portion of the 2015 Emmy broadcast, is remembered in Nightbird which affords everyone the opportunity to experience Eva Cassidy's complete tour de force performance at the Blues Alley jazz club in Washington, D.C. on January 3, 1996 for the first time. The Blues Alley performances were recorded for what was to become the only solo Cassidy album released during her lifetime. The original Live at Blues Alley album (first released locally in D.C. during the spring of 1996) only included 12 of the 31 songs recorded that night.

20 years later, the remastered Nightbird includes all 31 songs she performed that night, among them 12 previously unreleased recordings and 8 never-before-heard songs performed by the late singer. Eva's wide musical range is showcased in songs such as "Nightbird," "Blue Skies," "Son Of A Preacher Man," "Route 66," "Late In The Evening," "Baby I Love You" and "Caravan." Now Blix Street's UK label is releasing Nightbird as a limited edition 4LP box set.

Compiling the 31 Blues Alley performances into one Nightbird album was a daunting task for Bill Straw, president of Eva's posthumous label, independent Blix Street Records: "I have had the privilege of compiling eight Eva Cassidy albums, beginning with Songbird. In each instance, the luxury of Eva's considerable catalogue, from various sources, served the basic premise that less is more. The challenge of an album containing 31 tracks is the polar opposite...would more be less? Fortunately, more turned out to be much more. The first listening to all 31 tracks in one sitting was an inspiring experience. Beginning at Capitol Records in the late 60's, I had heard out-takes from the best of the best...but had never before heard anything that approached the sheer consistent vocal excellence of these 31 one-take, all on one night, performances."


A1 Blue Skies
A2 Ain't Doin' Too Bad
A3 Ain't No Sunshine
A4 Fields Of Gold
B1 Baby I Love You
B2 Honeysuckle Rose
B3 Route 66
B4 Bridge Over Troubled Water

C1 (Eva Introduces The Band)
C2 Chain Of Fools
C3 Fever
C4 Autumn Leaves
C5 Fine And Mellow
D1 Cheek To Cheek
D2 It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
D3 Late In The Evening
D4 Next Time You See Me
D5 Waly Waly

E1 Take Me To The River
E2 Nightbird
E3 People Get Ready
E4 The Letter
F1 Son Of A Preacher Man
F2 Stormy Monday
F3 Tall Trees In Georgia
F4 Something's Got A Hold On Me

G1 Time After Time
G2 Over The Rainbow
G3 You're Welcome To The Club
G4 Caravan
H1 You've Changed
H2 What A Wonderful World
H3 Oh, Had I A Golden Threat

Discs: 4
Drager(LP,EP,12,7,CD): LP
Qual(120grs,150grs,180grs): 180grs
Speed(33,45): 33
Label: Blix street
This release: 2016
Compilation (133)
Use commas to separate tags.


No reviews found...