Duke Ellington
Meets Coleman Hawkins (acoustic sounds Series) =HQ 180g vinyl=

  1 x LP   180grs   33⅓rpm   

( 1963 ) - 2022 US Acoustic Sounds Series reissue on HQ 180g vinyl LP =

Label:  Impulse (Acoustic Sounds Series)  
Availability:   In Stock
Delivery time:  
€52,95 Incl. VAT (BTW)
Quantity:    In Basket

Release date: 06-05-2022 (Originally released in 1963)

2022 US Acoustic Sounds Series reissue on HQ 180g vinyl LP   =

  • Acoustic Sounds Series reissues from Verve/Universal Music Enterprises!
  • Monthly releases highlighting the world's most historic and best jazz records!
  • Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound from the original analog tapes
  • 180-gram LPs pressed at Quality Record Pressings!
  • Stoughton Printing gatefold old-style tip-on jackets
  • Series supervised by Chad Kassem CEO of Acoustic Sounds
  • "One of the great Ellington albums, one of the great Hawkins albums and one of the great albums of the 1960s." — The New York Times

    Even though Duke Ellington and Coleman Hawkins had both been well-known jazzmen since the early 1920s and continued to be successful until their deaths, their only recorded encounter was the LP Duke Ellington Meets Coleman Hawkins (Impulse AS-26), taped in 1962 and presented here in its entirety.

    Hawkins had been an admirer of Duke Ellington's music for at least 35 years at this point and Ellington had suggested they record together at least 20 years prior to their actual meeting in 1962. Although it would have been preferable to hear the tenor sax great performing with the full orchestra, his meeting with Ellington and an all-star group taken out of the big band does feature such greats as Ray Nance on cornet and violin, trombonist Lawrence Brown, altoist Johnny Hodges, and baritonist Harry Carney. High points include an exuberant "The Jeep Is Jumpin'," an interesting remake of "Mood Indigo," and a few new Ellington pieces. This delightful music is recommended in one form or another.

    Recorded at Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, on August 18, 1962 and released in February 1963 by Impulse! Records.

    Coleman Hawkins, tenor sax
    Duke Ellington, piano
    Ray Nance, cornet and violin
    Johnny Hodges, alto sax
    Harry Carney, baritone sax and bass clarinet
    Aaron Bell, bass
    Sam Woodyard, drums

    A1. Limbo Jazz
    A2. Mood Indigo
    A3. Ray Charles' Place
    A4. Wanderlust

    B1. You Dirty Dog
    B2. Self Portrait
    B3. The Jeep Is Jumpin'
    B4. The Ricitic

Discs: 1
Drager(LP,EP,12,7,CD): LP
Qual(120grs,150grs,180grs): 180grs
Speed(33,45): 33
Label: Impulse (Acoustic Sounds Series)
Originally released: 1963
This release: 2022
Acoustic Sounds Series (4)
Use commas to separate tags.


No reviews found...