Stevie Wonder
Songs In The Key Of Life

  2 x LP   180grs   33⅓rpm      + bonus 7 inch EP+ download

Label:  Motown 
Availability:   In Stock
Delivery time:  
€34,95 Incl. VAT (BTW)
Quantity:    In Basket

Release date 24-08-2017 (Originally released in 1976)

2017  EU 2LP+bonus 7 inch set pressed on 180gram VIRGIN VINYL -includes the classic Isnt She Lovely plus bonus 4track 12 vinyl single replicating the original A Somethings Extra 7 EP included with initial pressings of the LP. sealed and stickered gatefold sleeve with 24page lyric booklet.

A1 Love's In Need Of Love Today
A2 Have A Talk With God
A3 Village Ghetto Land
A4 Contusion
A5 Sir Duke 

B1 I Wish
B2 Knocks Me Off My Feet    
B3 Pastime Paradise
B4 Summer Soft
B5 Ordinary Pain

C1 Isn't She Lovely
C2 Joy Inside My Tears
C3 Black Man

D1 Ngiculela - Es Una Historia - I Am Singing
D2 If It's Magic
D3 As
D4 Another Star

7 inch - A Something's Extra
E1 Saturn
E2 Ebony Eyes
F1 All Day Sucker
F2 Easy Goin' Evening (My Mama's Call)

To sing songs in the key of life as the cover promises us must be more of an exercise than a labour of love for a soul musician But this album which Stevie Wonder just 26 years old produced more or less on his own turned out to be a raving success at the time The collection of love songs childhood recollections and ghetto scenes were considered to be the ultimate confirmation of his extraordinary talent according to People Magazine while Melody Maker considered the album to be the most essential recording of the year

That this collection should be considered as a complete work of art is easy to understand when one has listened to it right through because it s not a collection of hits and bestofs and one has the opportunity to make one s own choice of top hits Each number is a unique musical jewel the one has an earthy basic sound subtle percussion a funky bass melody and a rocking Rhodes piano another has cloudy a capella passages and makes use of electronics in a gentle never diffuse sounding way This results in a microcosm of black soul and feelings composed out of sounds rhythms and lyrics which can hardly be surpassed as far as complexity is concerned Now it becomes quite clear as to why Michael Jackson and co borrowed an idea here or there from this work of wonder

&nbspStevie Wonder arr hca keyb voc Minnie Riperton voc Ronnie Foster org Herbie Hancock keyb Michael Sembello Howard Buzz Feiten g George Benson g voc Jim Horn sax George Bohannon tb Raymond Maldonado tr perc Raymond Lee Pounds dr ao

Recording 1975/76 at Crystal Industries Hollywood Hit Factory New York Record Plant Los Angeles Record Plant Sausalito CA by John Fischbach and Gary Olazabal
Production Stevie Wonder

Discs: 2
Drager(LP,EP,12,7,CD): LP
Qual(120grs,150grs,180grs): 180grs
Speed(33,45): 33
Bonus(cd,single,download): bonus 7 inch EP+ download
Label: Motown
Originally released: 1976
This release: 2017
Use commas to separate tags.


No reviews found...