Joy Division

Joy Division

Joy Division were an English rock band. Originally named Warsaw, the band primarily consisted of Ian Curtis (vocals and occasional guitar), Bernard Sumner (guitar and keyboards), Peter Hook (bass guitar and backing vocals) and Stephen Morris (drums and percussion).

Joy Division rapidly evolved from their initial punk rock influences to develop a sound and style that made them one of the pioneers of the post-punk movement of the late 1970s. Their self-released 1978 debut (Warsaw) EP, An Ideal for Living, drew the attention of the Manchester television personality Tony Wilson. Joy Division's debut album, Unknown Pleasures, was released in 1979 on Wilson's independent record label Factory Records, and drew critical acclaim from the British press. Despite the band's growing success, vocalist Ian Curtis was beset with depression and personal difficulties, including a dissolving marriage and his diagnosis of epilepsy. Curtis found it increasingly difficult to perform at live concerts, and often had seizures during performances.

On the eve of the band's first American tour in May 1980, Curtis committed suicide. Joy Division's posthumously released second album, Closer (1980), and the single "Love Will Tear Us Apart" became the band's highest charting releases. After the death of Curtis, the remaining members continued as New Order, achieving critical and commercial success.

1978 - Warsaw
1979 - Unknown Pleasures
1980 - Closer ( Factory)

Preston 28 February 1980 - 1999
Les Bains Douches 1979 - 2001

Music Genres
Music Vinyl Record Sorts
Music Record Labels
Joy Division Love will Tear us apart=12 inch maxi single =180g EP=

JOY DIVISION - Love will Tear us apart=12 inch maxi single =180g EP=

2XLP 180G vinyl gatefold
-- In Stock --


2020 EU reissue on 180g EP (12", 45 RPM, Single )-Classic 1980

A Love Will Tear Us Apart

B1 These Days
B2 Love Will Tear Us Apart

Joy Division Unknown Pleausure =180g=

JOY DIVISION - Unknown Pleausure =180g=

1XLP 180g vinyl 33rpm=cut from 2007 remasteres
-- In Stock --

( 1979 ) 2007 EU reissued =180g vinyl LP = remaster 1979's debut, "Unknown Pleasures", featured such landmark songs as "New Dawn Fades", "She's Lost Control", "Shadowplay" and "Disorder". 


Joy Division - Substance ( 1977- 1980 )  = 180g vinyl 2LP =

JOY DIVISION - - Substance ( 1977- 1980 ) = 180g vinyl 2LP =

2xLP 180g 33rpm
-- Sold Out -- But expected in again!

( 1988 ) 2015 EU reissued on 180g LP=compilation album by English rock band Joy , including the four singles released by the band that did not appear on albums — "Transmission", "Komakino", "Love Will Tear Us Apart", and "Atmosphere" — as well as most of

Joy Division Closer =180g vinyl =2007 remaster=

JOY DIVISION - Closer =180g vinyl =2007 remaster=

1x LP 180gr 33rpm
-- In Stock --

( 1980 ) 2007 EU remaster on 180g clear vinyl P-Musically and lyrically driven by the prevailing despair of Curtis, Closer(1980) was once again produced by Martin Hannett, who also helmed the group's debut Unknown Pleasures, and he and the band weave spra