No Need to Argue=2LP=remastered with B-sides + extras

  2 x LP   standard   33⅓rpm     2020 remaster+ B side + extras 

( 1994 ) 2020 reissue 180g 2 LP remastered and expanded + bonus tracks - with hits: " Dreaming My Dreams" , “Zombie” &"Ode To My Family," "Yeats' Grave," "Ridiculous Thoughts"
Originally released in 1994, the album was the band’s commercial peak, with

Label:  Plain Records-Island 
Availability:   In Stock
Delivery time:  
€32,95 Incl. VAT (BTW)
Quantity:    In Basket
Release date: 06-12-2020(originally released in 1994)
2020 reissue 180g 2 LP remastered and expanded + B-sides + extras - with hits: " Dreaming My Dreams" , “Zombie” &"Ode To My Family," "Yeats' Grave," "Ridiculous Thoughts"
Originally released in 1994, the album was the band’s commercial peak, with global sales in excess of 17 million. No Need to Argue contains the single ‘Zombie’ which topped charts across Europe (although interestingly, only peaked at 14 in the UK) and was seemingly played endlessly on MTV at the time.
Propelled by the omnipresent hit song “Zombie” about the  1993 IRA bombings, the album was a worldwide smash and helped make the band one of the biggest of the '90s. Once again helmed by Everybody Else Is Doing It producer Stephen Street, No Need To Argue saw the band tackling more mature subject matter and employing a livelier rock sound than that of their mellow debut. Further highlights include "Ode To My Family," "Yeats' Grave," "Ridiculous Thoughts" and "Dreaming My Dreams."
A1 Ode To My Family  
A2 I Can't Be With You  
A3 Twenty One  
A4 Zombie  
B1 Empty  
B2 Everything I Said  
B3 The Icicle Melts  
B4 Disappointment  
B5 Ridiculous Thoughts  
C1 Dreaming My Dreams  
C2 Yeats' Grave  
C3 Daffodil Lament  
C4 No Need To Argue  
D1 Yesterday's Gone (MTV Unplugged) (bonus track)
D2 Away (bonus track)  
D3 I Don't Need (bonus track)  
D4 So Cold In Ireland (bonus track)
D5 (They Long To Be) Close To You (bonus track)
Written-By – Burt Bacharach, Hal David


Allmusic guide review:
With their surprise success behind them, the Cranberries went ahead and essentially created a sequel to Everybody Else is Doing It, So Why Can't We with only tiny variations, with mixed results. The fact that the album is essentially a redo of previously established stylistic ground isn't apparent in just the production, handled again by Stephen Street, or the overall sound, or even that one particularly fine song is called "Dreaming My Dreams." Everybody wasn't a laugh riot, to be sure, but No Need to Argue starts to see O'Riordan take a more commanding and self-conscious role that ended up not standing the band in good stead later. Lead single "Zombie" is the offender in this regard -- the heavy rock trudge isn't immediately suited for the band's strengths (notably, O'Riordan wrote this without Noel Hogan) -- while the subject matter (the continuing Northern Ireland tensions) ends up sounding trivialized. Opening cut "Ode to My Family" is actually one of the band's best, with a lovely string arrangement created by O'Riordan, her overdubbed vocals showing her distinct vocal tics. Where No Need succeeds best is when the Cranberries stick at what they know, resulting in a number of charmers like "Twenty One," the uilleann pipes-touched "Daffodil's Lament," which has an epic sweep that doesn't overbear like "Zombie," and the evocative "Disappointment."

Discs: 2
Drager(LP,EP,12,7,CD): LP
Qual(120grs,150grs,180grs): standard
Speed(33,45): 33
Extra info: 2020 remaster+ B side + extras
Label: Plain Records-Island
Originally released: 1994
This release: 2020
Use commas to separate tags.


No reviews found...